The Howard Reviews – The Empress of the Seven Seas- Chef Maria Rosu

Every fisherman has a fish story about that giant “whopper” they pulled out of the sea- well just let me tell you about the “whoppers” I found on dry land! These behemoths can only be found in the beautiful New England hamlet of Bloomfield, the place? Bloomfield Village Pizza of course, helmed by the Empress of Pizza herself, Chef Maria Rosu where every Friday is now “Friday Fish Fry Day”!!

Chef Maria, affectionately known as, the “Empress of Pizza”, for her world famous, fresh out of the oven pizza, is quickly gaining recognition as the “Empress of the Seven Seas” with her fresh from the sea – “Friday Fish Fry” with such whale brimming plate offerings including; Haddock, halibut and scrod, colossal scallops, whole belly Clams and prawns. Once seen, you will have to agree, her culinary crustacean creations overflow their vessels.

Like most, whenever I think of Bloomfield Village Pizza, I immediately envision – “best Pizza” in Connecticut- hands down- and then onward to Chef Maria’s authentic homemade pastas, grinders, chicken wings and salads. But for the last several months, my tastebuds have been more adventurous with a yen for fresh fish. Like most, I have sojourned throughout Connecticut searching for great seafood restaurants- but who knew my search would bring me back to my own home town.

A “Friday Fish Fry” has been part of my world since a child- I remember going with the family to “Howard Johnson’s” in Hartford almost every week, the waitress would push a cart to your table, and plate you with fresh fried fish, chips (fries) and all the accompaniments you could handle.

It was several weeks back, yes- on a Friday, that I was visiting Chef Maria, she made me one of her world famous plain cheese pizzas and then asked what else I would like, I quickly responded – “your Friday Fish Fry Special”- a whole golden fried Haddock, accompanied by Fresh whole belly clams, lightly breaded and fried scallops and shrimps, and served with hand cut crispy French Fries, her in-house homemade coleslaw- with lemon wedges and tartar sauce on the side.

I enjoyed my delicious orb of a Bloomfield Village Pizza, and then Chef Maria brought out my “Friday Fish Fry” as described above- however on its way to my table and my awaiting tastebuds- several folks seated in adjoining tables took note of my “Catch of the Day” – one woman even asked if she could stopped by my table to take a second look at this oh-so enticing plate of fish-fry finery- of course one look and she ordered the “Friday Fish Fry” as well! Let me tell you friends the 3F’s is OMG – truly scrumptious!

Folks, I so encouraged you to visit with Empress Maria at Bloomfield Village Pizza, sample her rich assortment of Italian delights, but when it comes to Friday- remember her Fantastic Fish Fry. I understand in coming weeks Chef Maria is contemplating adding Fried Shrimp and Fried Whole Belly Clams Po-boys and fish tacos- I can’t wait! Enjoy!!

Bloomfield Village Pizza is located at 34 Tunxis Avenue in Bloomfield, Connecticut. For call ahead reservations, to place an order, or to speak directly with Empress Maria Rosu call 860-242-3339.

About The Howard

The Howard - Reviews, thoughts and ideas
This entry was posted in Food, Howard and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

