My Billion Dollar Home- rented of course!

Holland American Line rep assists traveler during embarkation of Ms Veendam

Holland American Line rep assists traveler during embarkation of Ms Veendam

So my vacation has arrived! Two weeks away from every one including you dear readers!  I have rented a billion dollar home away from home-the MS Veendam-one of the Holland America Line Ships. Last year we spent two wonderful, blissful weeks on Veendam’s sister ship- Massdam.

My departure on Saturday from my Connecticut home,  a bit of grey clouds surround as drizzles opens up on our right on time Hunter Limosine to Boston, Massachusetts. From CT to The Boston pier, less than an hour and a half.  As usual, embarkation –  it’s easy peasy onto the beautiful MS Veendam and onward to my already mentioned home away from home- a delicious suite on the navigation deck.  We leave Boston directly at 4pm with our first stop the scenic Bar Harbor Maine.image

Sunday- Bar Harbor- weather conditions, cold, drizzle, grey clouds cascade over the  busy harbor of bays. Guess what? The weather is just like home- so glad I packed my parka, gloves and mittens – well it’s not that cold but I did see steam vapor escaping from my mouth while I talked.

No matter, Bar a Harbor is a scenic wonderland – peaceful and  serene!! I wake at 8am, shower, have a breakfast of raisin brand and head to level 3 of the ship to get on the 20 minute tender  to the Bar Harbor Shore.image

Bar Harbor- one of my favorite places to visit, shop and plain relax. no matter where you look the harbor views are outstanding!

Patrick Fogarty- owner of "A Little Mad" in Bar Harbor, Maine. Beautiful, original, handcrafted items for everyone to enjoy!

Patrick Fogarty- owner of “A Little Mad” in Bar Harbor, Maine. Beautiful, original, handcrafted items for everyone to enjoy!

One of favorite places to shop is a shoppe called “A Little Mad”- it fits me to a tee- and not a t-shirt either! The shoppe is owned by Jeffrey, Jolene and Patrick Fogarty. If you are looking for whimsical, original, and unique items than this is the place to go to!!  A Little Mad is chocked filled with unique items that celebrate the finest of  handmade and are lol fun!! During my visit I had a chance to chat with Patrick and even assist a couple from our ship select a set of one of a kind bird paintings !!!! Ought oh one last stop I have to make before heading back to the ship- have to get a box of freshly made salt water taffy- yum!!! Ok back to the ship- the Captain is sounding his horn – back on board for our next stop- Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Bar Harbor, Maine- central shopping area!!

Bar Harbor, Maine- central shopping area!!

MS Veendam in Bar Harbor Maine

MS Veendam in Bar Harbor Maine

About The Howard

The Howard - Reviews, thoughts and ideas
This entry was posted in BATV, Howard, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

